21 September 2013

victoriansansalpha 760x100

21 September 2013

The prompts are:

1. She studied her face in the mirror
2. It’s Christmas Day and it’s like 80 degrees
3. They had obviously confused movement with progress
Begin writing

Beatrice woke up and rolled over in the bed.  Slowly opening her eyes a crack she determined it was light outside.  She snapped her eyes shut again, groaned and pulled the blanket over her head.  Eventually she recognized the futility of trying to go back to sleep and tossing the covers back she sat on the edge of the bed.  She groped her way to the bathroom, splashed water on her face and studied her appearance in the mirror.  Not too bad she thought those bags under my eyes are hardly noticeable.

As she began looking around, she slowly registered the fact that except for her own face in the mirror, nothing else looked familiar.

“Huh,” she said aloud to herself, “what have I gotten into this time?  Where am I?”

“You’re at my house in Kauai” a white bearded man answered, sticking his head around the door frame.

“OK,” she said, “You look familiar but who are you and how did I get to your house in Kauai?  The last thing I remember I was in Minneapolis.”

“That’s right,” he said, “Do you remember any more?”

Beatrice reached into her memory and found a few scraps that seemed recent.  “I think I dropped the boys at the rink for hockey practice and then went to the market to do some last minute shopping for Christmas dinner.”

“Ho ho,” said the bearded man, smiling “I wasn’t sure if you would remember or not.  Sit down and let me fill in some blanks for you.”

She nodded her head and perched on the edge of the toilet waiting expectantly.  The large white haired guy leaned against the door frame; he was big but in pretty good shape for an old man.  He was wearing a red tank top and board shorts.  “You are at my retreat in Kauai” he stated.

“Wait a minute, we didn’t…?” she began.

“No, no, we didn’t do that.  Now where was I? Ah yes, today is the first day of my vacation.  It’s Christmas day and I’ve been working all night.  I always take a couple of weeks off after Christmas Eve.  You know, before I go back up north and get to work again.”

Time is up. Put down your writing implements and step away from the paper

Leave a Reply

