Daily Prompt: Quirk of Habit

Daily Prompt: Quirk of Habit

Which quirky habit annoys you the most, and what quirky habit do you love — in yourself, or others.

Sometimes she will give me that look.  You know the one. One corner of her mouth pulls down ever so slightly, her eyes roll; she squints, and tilts her head just a bit.  Then the noise comes.  The noise I can’t even describe and I am unsure of its source (does it come from the back of her throat?).  When this happens I know I have done something to annoy, or something with which she does not agree.  This is her habit.  It’s a bit quirky but it’s what she does.  It can be infuriating.  When she does this I feel like I probably should have stayed in bed.

Then there are those times when she will give me that look.  You know this one too. One corner of her mouth pulls down ever so slightly, her eyes roll; she squints, and tilts her head just a bit.  Then the noise comes.  The noise I can’t even describe and I am unsure of its source.  When this happens she looks beautiful and it reaffirms all the reasons I began to love her in the first place.  This is her habit.  It’s a bit quirky but it’s what she does.  It can be endearing, reaffirming, and empowering. When she does this I feel like there is nothing I cannot accomplish.

Some other ideas on this from writers I admire:

  1. Stretch! | A Teacher’s Blog
  2. The Habit of Fear | Shrine of Hecate – Ramblings of a New Age Witch
  3. Daily Prompt: You Are Not Michael Jackson | Under the Monkey Tree
  4. Write | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  5. Daily Prompt: Quirk of Habit | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer
  6. Quirky Love | Active Army Wife
  7. A Penny For Your Thoughts | The Jittery Goat
  8. Hate Late « Mon Cache