Daily Prompt: Sounds Right

Daily Prompt: Sounds Right

 This is clearly subjective, but some words really sound like the thing they describe (personal favorites: puffin; bulbous; fidgeting). Do you have an example of such a word (or, alternatively, of a word that sounds like the exact opposite of what it refers to)? What do you think creates this effect?


Lucy dealt the cards around the table and said to no one in particular, “I just don’t know what I’m gonna do with that girl of mine. This morning I think she was trying to play hooky, stay home from school. But I made her go anyway. She didn’t fool me.”

“What happened, Luce?”

“Well, y’all knew that she dyed her hair pitch black a while back. She says it makes her look pensive and goth, whatever that means. I think she’s just trying to look mysterious. It’s that new crowd at school she’s fallen in with and that new boyfriend calls himself ‘Dawg’. He wears more makeup than any girl I ever met. Just weird, I tell you. I would never go out with a man who wore more makeup than me. ‘Cept maybe that weather man on channel 13 – you know, the one in the morning.”

The other girls all nodded and Bea even licked her lips. They all agreed that was one fine looking weatherman.

“Well, she got up and sulked through breakfast then went upstairs to get dressed. That ‘Dawg’ came to pick her up for school. I heard the doorbell but I figgered I knew who it was, and it wasn’t for me, so I didn’t bother. I heard her run down the stairs and open the door. Then ‘Dawg’ says, ‘Wow, baby. You look sick!’ so I rushed out to see what was wrong.”

“Was she OK?” Bea asked, clearly caught up in the story.

“Well, she did look kinda puny but I could tell it was just too much white makeup on her face and I told her so. I told her, ‘You do look a bit ill but you can’t fool me. I can tell it’s just white makeup and too much eyeliner. Go wash your face and get your ass to school.’

“She and ‘Dawg’hightailed it outta there and she yelled back at me that she’d have to wash her face at school. Didn’t want to be late you know.”

The other girls clucked their tongues and shook their heads. Such a transparent attempt at trickery, what are these kids thinking?


Sweat, Tears and Digital Ink Quirks of the English Language
From Balderdash To Epiphany. Descriptive Word.. Under the Monkey Tree
gut honest faith Grumpy Bubbles
Perspectives on life, universe and everything Salt
Perspectives on life, universe and everything No substitute
Vexing Point Sounds Right
Sounds Right The Daily Post
risingrave28 EZ Game Guys! And oh, your Katka is Rekted!
One Man Versus the World The Fall of the Goblin Kingdom
She’s Rambling Park on the Driveway drive on the Parkway?
DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society An open letter to the overseers of the English language
Thoughts of a Misfit Junkie Things I hear vs Things I want to hear
Rubber Tyres –> Smooth Rides Sounds Right: Highlighted Words
Never A Worry [M.M.X.I.V. 220] Onomatopoeia
That’s My Philosophy Spirits Soar
Epenthesis The Language Pleasure
Mumbai Mornings What do you call your Coffee?
Wright Outta Nowhere Sounds Right: Griniazee
Sia Positive Do “LOVE” really sound the right word?
lifelessons – a blog by Judy Dykstra-Brown “Flutter” : The Surrogate
Ripples N Reflections These are A Few of My Favorite…. Words
Rideo, Ergo Supero Not Quite Onomatopoeia
seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah Sounds Right
Prairie Views Are You Really Charming?
One Rambling Mind Sounds Right
I’m a Writer, Yes I Am onomatopoeia
Just Writing! Onomatopoeia
psychologistmimi Odious: sometimes it is the perfect word
The Truculent Writer Sounds Like
nanashirl Sounds Right
Serendipity WHAT’S A LITTLE PTSD AMONGST FRIENDS?
Life’s Journeys Unfolding Sounds Right – Ooze; Glisten; Rump and the Bouba Kiki Experiment
A Culture of One Aesthetic Sterotype
Life is great Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious
FlippyZipFlop I’ve got to do it… (DP)
….on pets and prisoners….. the tale of two teemu’s
A lot from Lydia Omphaloskepsis
Pollyanna Press A Piffling Trifle, if I May?
soul n spirit It means a wor(l)d to me
quirkinessandme Sounds unpleasant!
My Simple Life Don’t or Didn’t? An Grammatical Argument
Living, Breathing, and Surviving, and Coping with Mental Illness Daily Post – Perusing on Through
The Reluctant Baptist Oh My, Oh My, Oh My
joatmon14 Irregardless
A Guide to Getting Lost 3 Strange Spanish Expressions
Mysterious Moose Sounds Right
Flowers and Breezes Words to Wind You
The Sunny Narrative. Illustrations of Onomatopoiea
Thoughts from the Front Words that make you go hrmmm….
Chapter Thirty Confessions Sounds Right
Sounds Right ‘Perfect’ is Too… Well…
Emotional Fitness DOG VERSUS GOD
Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss Sound Right – if you know what you are talking about
Stuff my dog taught me Buster on Onomatopoeia… and Growling
johnandmargaret1607 The Daily Post~Sounds Right
Writing Prompts for Rookie Writers The Daily Post’s “Sounds Right”
A Little Fluff Sounds Wrong – Itchy
the bippity boppity beautiful blog T e s s e l l a t e
a.go.go tangerine
Pippakin Talks Cats, Dogs, Teeth and Claws Words
365 Days of Thank You Do You Know How To Polka?

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Sounds Right

Leave a Reply

