Daily Prompt: Secret Admirers

Daily Prompt: Secret Admirers

You return home to discover a huge flower bouquet waiting for you, no card attached. Who is it from — and why did they send it to you?


Carnations, my favorite
They came without a card
But who would send me flowers?

It’s not my birthday.

The single mother across the hall comes out her door
Smiles. – “Those are pretty.”
She turns towards the lift

Maybe it was she?

Opening the door, I take them inside
The phone is ringing from the breakfast bar – “Hello”
“Rick, honey? It’s Mom.”                                        I know.

“Mom, did you…”

“Ricky, your sister’s calling through on the other line
I’ll call you right back. Okay?”
“Sure, Mom.” The line was already dead.

Already on with Eileen, no doubt.

I worry about the bouquet
Sleep eludes me most of the night.
Have I forgotten a significant date?

Someone from work? Who?

The cute checker from the market?
That would be nice.
Was she flirting with me last weekend?

I’ll go shopping tomorrow – just to make sure.


 

Perspectives on life, universe and everything Assassination in broad daylight
Perspectives on life, universe and everything Missing that tune
From Balderdash To Epiphany. Business Bouquet
gut honest faith Valentino
tuckedintoacorner A Mystery Delivery
The Wandering Poet Image of you on my mind..
Under the Monkey Tree I Love You More
Twinkie Talks Daily Prompt #3
Living, Breathing, and Surviving, and Coping with Mental Illness Flowers? For Me?
A mom’s blog No Surprises
Bob’s Blog-O-Rama Daily Prompt : Secret Admirers
Vexing Point Secret Admirers – Yeah, no, not going to happen
A Little Fluff Secret Admirer
New Chapter A mysterious flower bouquet from…

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Secret Admirers

Leave a Reply

