Daily Prompt: Discussion Enders

Daily Prompt: Discussion Enders

 We’ve all had exchanges where we came up with the perfect reply — ten minutes too late. Write down one of those, but this time, make sure to sign off with your grand slam (unused) zinger.


 

I caught the ball and put my foot neatly on the base. Joshua Parker was an easy out at first. I flipped the ball to Ed, at second to start a rally. He shot it over to the new kid at third and I turned back towards my position. Josh was standing with his foot on the bag grinning.

“Nice try numbnuts,” he said.

“Yeah,” I replied, “and, you’re out by a mile.”

“Your foot never touched the bag, I’m safe.”

“You’re out!”

“Safe”

“Out”

“SAFE”

“OUT”

S A F E”

“OH YEAH?”

“YEAH”

“Josh,” I calmed down and leaned in close so only he could hear, “Your momma wears Army boots.”

His eyes filled with tears, and his lower lip began to quiver, but he didn’t actually cry. He turned and walked dejectedly back to the dugout.

Benny tossed me the ball from the pitcher’s mound and I stepped on the bag again just to make sure.


 

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Discussion Enders

Leave a Reply

