Daily Prompt: The Mirror Crack’d

Daily Prompt: The Mirror Crack’d

You wake up one morning to a world without mirrors. How does your life — from your everyday routines to your perception of yourself — change?


 

Life is good. I have everything I could ever want. Strangers want to give me money and jewels. Women offer sex. I have power. I have these things because I remembered. I remembered how stuff was made.

It was only two or three years ago when it happened and it was not a local thing either, it was global. All the mirrors were gone, in their place were murals. Primitive murals executed with crayons or tempera paints hung where the mirrors had once been. No one really noticed – no one but me, apparently.

???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

I waited for big business or big government to intervene and fix this problem. Meanwhile people went out with bad hair and bad makeup. They would peer deeply into the crayon drawings and believe that they were looking at their reflections. You could not go out without seeing folks whose clothes were hanging funny, or whose shirttails were untucked at the back. There was a lot of stress and two countries with large fashion industries, Italy and France, actually declared war on one another. Fortunately, UN intervention put an end to that without any shots being fired.

It slowly dawned on me that nothing was going to be done. Apparently the recipe for making a proper mirror had disappeared with the mirrors themselves. Why did I remember how it was done? What made me special? I decided that the answers to those questions didn’t matter. I set to work and began experimenting with silvering the back of glass sheets in my garage. My products were primitive but functional. I began selling. Hollywood, New York, San Francisco, Duluth, money was rolling in. People craved their reflections. I sold by word of mouth, no marketing or advertising budget required. Soon I expanded to the international markets and it just got better and better. Mirrors in homes were all the rage and I capitalized on their popularity. Mirrors on automobiles were soon recognized as a boon to safety and I jumped into that market as well. The building industry jumped on the bandwagon and started to clad high rise buildings with my product. There was no end in sight. I was rich. I was all-powerful. I was omnipotent.

But, there was a dark side. I became ruthless. Employees, workers, were not allowed to leave the company under penalty of death. When a competitor surfaced in Sri Lanka they woke to find their factories burned to the ground and their families missing. I did what I had to do to protect my business but I don’t feel good about it. It’s hard to face myself in the mirror these days. I’m going to have all the mirrors in my house removed and replaced with murals; murals done in crayons and temperas. But, then I won’t be able to leave the house any more.


5 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: The Mirror Crack’d

Leave a Reply

