Daily Prompt: Zoltar’s Revenge

Daily Prompt: Zoltar’s Revenge

 In a reversal of Big, the Tom Hanks classic from the 80s, your adult self is suddenly locked in the body of a 12-year-old kid. How do you survive your first day back in school?


 

“Mom, where’s my briefcase? My laptop’s in there and I’ve got to get a power point presentation prepared for Geography.”

“Anthony, you’re twelve years old. Eighth graders don’t carry briefcases.” She handed me a brown paper bag folded over at the top with ‘ANTHONY’ printed in neat block letters across the front. “Get on now,” she said, “don’t miss the bus.”

“What’s this Mom?” I asked holding up the bag.

“Your lunch, silly. I put an extra cookie in there and here’s a nickel to get some milk.”

“Thanks, Mom. But, I really need my laptop. And, about the bus? I don’t need to take the bus but, I can’t find my car keys anywhere. Have you seen ‘em?”

“Oh, you are such a kidder. Twelve years old and wanting to drive. I declare. And as far as your lap top goes, when you are sitting on the bus look down. You’ll see the top of your lap all right. Honestly, I don’t know where you get this stuff.” She grabbed my chin and twisted my head back planting a big kiss right in the middle of my forehead. “Get to the bus stop now,” she said and turned back to the kitchen where her coffee was sitting next to the stove. Close to the cupboard with the Brandy.

I grabbed the pile of books, neatly covered with brown paper shopping bags, carefully cut and folded for the job, and headed out the front door, down the block towards the stop.

Shit, I thought, this was supposed to be fun. I didn’t think it through – no car, no laptop. I need a drink and it’s only 8 o’clock.  I wonder if the same kids are going to be in my class this time around. I hope so. I always did like Lisa Gibson, and my tennis skills are better now. If I practice this year, I can probably get on the varsity squad my freshman year. This might not be so bad after all. First, I gotta get a fake ID though.

I heard an angelic voice sing out from behind, “Hi Anthony.” It was Lisa, and she was beautiful.  She had always been beautiful. “Who do you have for homeroom?” she asked. She was so young.  Last time I had seen her was at our 20 year high school reunion. She was beautiful then too, and she had been almost 40.

This may be harder than I had thought it was going to be


 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Zoltar’s Revenge

Leave a Reply

