Picture Prompt #9

ODP dali-melting-time-clock



“Quick, we’re gonna be late.” Uncle Sal said breathlessly. He grabbed my hand and literally dragged me behind him, my feet barely touching the floor. We got to the garage door and he let me stand. He waved his walking stick and said, “I’ll start the car. You better go pee. Once we start, we won’t be stopping till we get there.”

“OK, I said and started towards the bathroom. “Where are we going?” I hollered over my shoulder as I unzipped.

“We’re supposed to meet your dad in Lincoln at 10:30. It’s already a quarter after.”

“Uncle Sal, it’s not even nine yet! We got lots of time.”

“You sure?”

“Yeah, I’m looking at my watch. Did yours melt again?”

“Uh huh, and it slid right off the dresser. The damn hands must have floated around to a different position. I hate it when that happens.”

I finished and zipped my trousers back up. Washing my hands I said, “We can still leave now, if you want. You’re gonna need a new pocket watch anyway. Maybe you should get a gold one this time. The silver ones don’t seem to be working out too well for you.”

Twisting the ends of his mustache he said, “Let’s go then nephew. I like the silver ones though, they go better with my walking stick.” He shrugged his shoulders, took my hand and opened the garage door. We got in his car to head towards Lincoln. We had plenty of time to buy a new watch and still meet Dad.


 

More on Dali

3 thoughts on “Picture Prompt #9

Leave a Reply

