Endurance

TBP
TBP


Endurance

I’m thinking about this
What constitutes endurance?
Think man, think.

OK – I got it. My great grandmother on my mother’s side.
They told me her name was Mame. They say that
after her gold miner husband was killed in a card game –
in the New Mexico territories – that
she abandoned the mine and homesteaded a ranch instead.

She had four daughters; no sons. The girls were named:
Beryl, Clint, Beatrice, and Daughter
All four girls were college educated.
My Grandma got her degree in 1908. Latin.
Stuff like that seldom happened in those days.

Mame was 100 years old when she died
I remember her (barely). I remember sitting on the porch with her; watching her smoke and drink coffee. I remember her funeral.
She was smaller than my mom.
My mom was five feet tall.

Family stories tell me that Mame knew how to squeeze a dollar.
Legend is that she would wear her boots on the wrong feet every other day.
They would wear more evenly that way.
They would last longer.

I think that she was probably the embodiment of endurance.
She could be the “Endurance” poster girl
She would probably “wring a knot in my tail”
If she heard me calling her a poster girl.


 

10 thoughts on “Endurance

  1. What’s in a name, indeed (Daughter). My folks’ “people” used “Sis,” “Sissy” or “Sister” for the only or the youngest girl. Oldest boy was “Brother.”
    There’s a fabulous quote about what one generation does for the next I have to look up now. Anyway, this makes me think of my parents stories about their grandparents. Thanks for the “think man, think.” Very much worth the effort.
    However, Asgardana still gets the bonus points ;-p (see our comment string).

    Liked by 1 person

      • Weellllll…since I’ve had a chance to sleep on it, and since you made an effort with nonfiction this time (yes?), and since that effort gave me an idea for another prompt…I’ll give you Bonus Points as well 😉

        Like

  2. Wring a knot in your tail! Language was so much more interesting before mass communication. We lost phases and means because they were regional, err sounded like county hicks, rednecks, back country folk, and other non city people. Great read

    Liked by 1 person

  3. We had a neighbor that always called their son..brother and the daughter sister. I thought that was their real name for several years. They switched to their real name eventually and would not answer you unless you spoke their real name. It was a hard thing for all the neighborhood children to get use to. Interesting blog.😐

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m hoping that’s “interesting” in a good way! My grandmother was Beatrice. Her sisters all called her Sis Bat. Names can be fascinating.

      Like

Leave a Reply

