Storm Damage

TBP



Winona Lockerbie clucked her tongue as she watched through the front window, watched the storm approach. She knew from the weather reports what was going to happen so when the first drops of rain began to patter on the window glass she fell back deeper into the house for shelter. This house was new. There was no cellar but Winona took her old Tom cat, Mr. Stitches, and went into her linen closet. She knew that was her best chance. She removed the lower shelf, tucked sheets and towels around herself, got comfortable, and listened to the storm. She was worried about her car, parked on the street in front of the house.

It felt as though an eternity passed while she was cocooned in the dark closet. Miraculously, she even slept off and on, when she woke it was with a start. She hugged Mr. Stitches and listened to the ominous silence. The cat purred softly against her breast and she thought that if he was this calm then the storm must be over so she reached up and slowly turned the knob to open the closet door. Just an inch, at first, and she peered through the crack. Her hall stretched back towards the bedroom and seemed to be intact with no visible damage.

Encouraged, Winona pushed the door open a bit further and stuck her head out into the hall. Mr. Stitches leaped from her arms and scampered down the hallway, in the direction of the kitchen, no doubt looking for his food bowl. Winona noted the sunlight and crawled from the closet. She stood slowly in the middle of the hall and began making her way towards the front room. She heard a thump from outside and hurried to the window just in time to see the paper boy pedal his bicycle around the corner. On her porch sat her morning paper, just like always. She scanned the street; her neighbor’s houses were all intact, the trees still stood where they had been before the storm. Everything seemed normal until she looked at her car, parked next to the curb. At least it was still there but she could see, even from the porch, the damage that had been done. It looked horrible.

The beautiful deep burgundy paint job was mottled and streaked. The rain had done its damage. She would have to fix it and there was no time like the present. Back in the house she got a bucket and mixed detergent with warm water. She got a large sponge a soft washing mitt and a chamois. Back outside she pulled the hose from where it was coiled beneath the faucet and squirted down her beautiful car. She hoped it could be saved. Surprisingly, it cleaned up well and relatively easy, as there had been only enough wind to deposit a thin layer of dust followed by enough rain to make her car look dirty and nasty.

As she was polishing the last of the chrome she saw Mr. Peterson, from next door step out onto his porch to collect the paper. He wore light blue pajamas with darker blue piping and brown slippers. A steaming mug of coffee was clutched in his hand. She waved to him and he smiled.

“Hi, Mr. Peterson, pretty rough storm last night huh? I can help you with your clean up, if you’d like.” She said and pointed at his blue Thunderbird parked in front of his house. “Looks like your car got pretty dirty too. I hope your family’s OK.”

Mr. Peterson looked at her and shook his head ever so slightly, “Yes, yes – my family is fine; and thank you very much, Ms Lockerbie but I don’t think you need to clean my car. I’ll just take it to the car wash later this week.”

“OK, Mr. Peterson, I’ll put this equipment away then. I’m going to rake the leaves that came down in my yard next. I’ll be happy to rake your lawn at the same time.” She looked at him expectantly and waited.

“That would be wonderful Ms Lockerbie. I would appreciate that.”

“My pleasure, neighbors need to pull together after a rough storm like that one. I’m happy to help out. All for one and one for all you know.”


 

 

10 thoughts on “Storm Damage

  1. Reminds me of some of the forecasts we get around here: Doom! Gloom! Disaster! We store up for a long winter of being totally cut off, but usually nothin much happens.
    Because you have penchant for naming your characters after actual people, places or things (for lack of a better term), I’m dying of curiosity (not literally, of course) about “Winona,” “Lockerbie” and “Mr. Stitches” the Tom cat (though I probably can guess how a “Tom cat” ended up with a name like “Mr Stitches”).

    Liked by 1 person

    • So…no story behind the character names? Then, you are condemning me to death by curiosity. So long, cruel world!
      (she feigns a fainting spell, complete with hand to forehead and a collapse on the couch. The cat jumps on her and starts licking her face) “No, kitty…” she hisses, “shoo! I’m playing dead for particular effect (affect?)…shoo!”

      Liked by 3 people

      • OK, I’m done with work for the day. One of the things about working in the lighting business is that you have to go out a lot at night. Tonight was one of those nights, but I think I can tell you about Winona Lockerbie now. I’m a bit surprised that you never heard of her. She was a pirate who studied her craft under Benjamin Hornigold. Hornigold also taught Edward Teach who went on to become known as Blackbeard. Winona Lockerbie had her gender against her in those days and while Blackbeard became famous and feared. Winona Lockerbie sort of faded into obscurity.
        As for Mr. Stitches – that’s sort of a catch all cat name I use from time to time. I also use “Mama Kitty”. I think I must have known a cat named Stitches at one time but I don’t remember when. “Mama Kitty” just sorta rolls off the tongue real nice and easy.

        Like

      • Ah, so she was a Wonderful Wench. I’m sorry I’ve not heard of her before, but then, I had a fairly sheltered childhood. I like “Mr Stiches” for a Tom cat. “Brat Cat” and “Barfy Cat” also roll off the tongue nicely, as well as accurately describe the little hair ball. Thank you for taking the time to answer my questions. I bet you’re glad you don’t do the work you do in the land of the midnight sun. Talk about your seasonal occupations!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m certain I could provide a cupcake so long as she realizes the super terrible storm caused me to use up my propane supply, so I must pray the grocery store is open and buy her a cupcake there as I could not possible waste the propane to bake one right now… 😙😙😄

        Liked by 1 person

  2. When she’s done washing Karmen’s car she can come rake our yard. We may have more leaves than she’s prepared for, though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

