I Don’t Need to Watch This

MFtS

Photo courtesy of Barbara W. Beacham at MFtS
Photo courtesy of Barbara W. Beacham at MFtS


I watched the vulture looking at me hungrily as I lay on the ground bleeding and injured. Something wasn’t quite right though. The perspective was off, wrong somehow. I looked up at the bird. I looked down at myself. I couldn’t remember what had happened. Eyes closed tightly, I thought back.

I remembered watching the old man, who called himself Drummer, as he untangled the lines and folded the silk.

I remembered standing on the wheel cover and holding the stay; thumbs up to Daniel as I let myself drop backwards into nothing, the void.

I remembered the sound of falling, a loud WHOOSH slipping past my ears, and then I remembered the ground – the suddenness of the ground.

I remembered what had happened. All of it. And, I kept my eyes closed.

 

The vulture was within his rights.

8 thoughts on “I Don’t Need to Watch This

  1. Accident or foul play by Drummer? I did have to read twice to clock what happened, but I like that. You have all the clues in there, I just wasn’t paying enough attention. Good stuff!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I also wonder if it was deliberate. This is one of the reasons I never tried parachute jumping. There are others of course. I’m glad the story stopped where it did. I don’t need to know more even if it’s Halloween. O_o Well done, TN. 🙂 — Suzanne

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

