Daily Prompt; Alma Mater

Daily Prompt; Alma Mater

You’ve been asked to speak at your high school alma mater — about the path of life. (Whoa.) Draft the speech.



Welcome Richard Dixson High School Class of 16, I’ve been asked to speak to you guys about the path of life.

First off, I wanna go on record as sayin’ that I wasn’t even aware there was a path of life so I went home and googled it. I found it in google maps too. It runs right ahind the Piggly Wiggly on Herkemer Street. I can’t be 100% sure ’cause I didn’t get a chance to go down there yet… but it looked like, on the map, that it’s a walkin’ path and it starts up hind the elementary school before meanderin’ with the stream and past the Auto Parts Store. Then it runs back o’ the Piggly Wiggly, but y’all already knew that, and curves slowly south over that rise where the kids all go to make out and ride their BMX bikes. Then it cuts down past the Drive In and ends at the old quarry.

I would also like to recommend to you kids that the old quarry is a much better place to make out than that BMX track – less crowded… more romantic.

Anyway, it got me thinkin’ that this really has been my life.

I don’t ‘member much that happened before elementary school. I recollect listenin’ to Ike on the radio with my dad and we watched him on the TV a time or two at the dry goods store. I recall ridin’ my bike and harassin’ my sister on a pretty regular basis. That’s ’bout the time that I started smokin’ too, but I don’t ‘member much more than that. So, just like the path of life, I pretty much start at elementary school.

In High School I spent a lot of time at that Auto Parts Store getting the things I needed to rebuilt my old ’49.

When I got that jalopy runnin’ I met my wife, Sarah Ann, at the Piggly Wiggly Store; we been married long time now, more years than I cares to ‘member. She was a cashier and she had the hots for old cars. She was a cashier at the Piggly Wiggly when cashiers had to punch the numbers on the register, knot just move things in front of a laser beam, like today. Back when they counted yo change into yo hand ‘stead o’ just stackin’ it on yo palm.

We had our ups and downs, just like that bicycle track, but eventually we wound up down by the quarry. Down by the quarry, where it’s more romantic, and where kids come from, if yore knot careful. Sarah Ann and I wound up with a few. A few kids that is, and now we got us a passel of grandkids too.

So I was talkin’ with Sarah Ann about this speech what I’m givin’ y’all now and pointin’ out the parallels in our lives with that path (the one I didn’t even know ’bout till the other day) and we decided we’re gonna go hike that path this weekend. The kids and the grandkids are comin’, and y’all’re all welcome to join us if ya want. We’re gonna set off from behind the elementary school on Saturday mornin’ about 8:30 and go all the way to the quarry. If ya decide to join us bring plenty water. It’s important to hydrate, hydrate, hydrate!

Hope to see ya there.


 

 

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt; Alma Mater

Leave a Reply

