Survival in the Wilderness

Daily Prompt; Survival



“Eww,” Muffin screamed, and she lurched backwards. Right into the arms of Kip.

“What’s wrong, Honey?” Kip asked.

“A bug,” she said, “a big ugly bug. It looks like a giant worm with a million legs. We have to find another trail.”

Kip looked at the centipede. “We can step over him,” he said. We’ll move past and break for lunch.”

Muffin watched Kip step over the bug and then she followed him, leaping over the obstructing creature. They went about a hundred yards and spread their picnic basket. Kip opened a bottle of wine and another bottle of sparkling water while Muffin unpacked the lunch that Chef Donnie had prepared for them today. Cold chicken, brie, iced grilled asparagus with a balsamic raspberry drip and a sliced baguette. There were chocolate muffins for dessert.

“I think I’m done,” Muffin told Kip as she finished her wine and dabbed a linen napkin to her lips.

“OK, let’s pack up and move on,” Kip agreed.

“No, I mean I’m done and I want to go home,” she added.

“I’m a bit disappointed to hear that Muff,” Kip said, “today, we were supposed to challenge ourselves. You know ‘survival in the wild’ and all that. I don’t think we’ve been out here even an hour.”

“I don’t care, I’m done.”

They packed the picnic basket back up and stood.

“Which way is the car?” asked Kip.

“I thought you were paying attention.”

“No, I’m not sure.”

Muffin held up her index finger, “I know what to do,” she said as she reached into the pocket of her new LL Bean cargo shorts and pulled out her IPhone 6S. “Serie, which way to the parking lot?”

“Sorry, I need more information. Which parking lot?”

“The one where we parked the Mercedes, of course.”

“Sorry, I need more information.”

Kip leaned in, “Serie, which way to Nordstroms by the house?”

“Go 500 yards to Lions Camp road and turn left.”

“Brilliant,” said Muffin, and they set off.

“Recalculating,” droned the robotic Serie.

Kip and Muff spun around and headed back down the trail.

“What if that ugly bug is still there?” Muffin asked.

“Don’t worry; I’ll protect you.”

4 thoughts on “Survival in the Wilderness

  1. Laughing out loud. For all the hikes where I dragged my kids through the forest uphill and then sliding down muddy maybe-trails, pretty sure I knew where we had parked and could get back there before dark…
    and also I’m hungry now. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

