Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise

Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise

 Tell us about a time when someone had you completely fooled, where the wool was pulled right over your eyes and you got hoodwinked, but good. Was it a humorous experience or one you’d rather forget? What was the outcome?

***

Dinner one night last month at Tonio’s on 16th Street was a meal that I would like to forget but, probably never will.

I was dining alone. Staring at a big plate of antipasto that had just been set in front of me and I was preparing to dig in when the front door opened.  I felt the cold air blast the back of my neck.  A wave of silence followed the chill.  The silence started with the tables closest to the door and worked its way towards the kitchen.  I felt the silence and the stillness, so alien in this busy Italian eatery.  It was palpable, everything stopped. Everyone stopped.  I swiveled my head towards the entrance and there stood Rico the Reaper.  The most feared enforcer for the Mezzanotte Family.  Don Mezzanotte controlled all the gambling, booze, and prostitution in Shelby County.  Rico the Reaper was his right hand man.  Most people never saw Rico twice.

Rico the Reaper was well known.  I had seen his photo in the paper but never seen him in person.  Despite this, I recognized him right away.  He didn’t look like a “hit man”.  He looked more like a high school football coach.  Like he had once been athletic but had gotten soft.  Rico was about 50-55 years old.  His once black hair was going gray and was noticeably absent on the top.  I guessed he was about 6 feet tall. He wore bifocals, and sported a noticeable paunch, evidence of “la bella vida” and an affection for the good things.  He wore black trousers, paired with a pastel green golf shirt under an olive tweed sports coat – the jacket, cut loose beneath the arms.  His outfit was accessorized by a gold chain around his neck and a matching gold bracelet.

Rico stood in the doorway and surveyed the main dining room with wide eyes.  He must not have seen what, or who, he was looking for so he moved towards the hallway at the back of the room and disappeared into the gloom. A brief commotion ensued from a back room.  Phht, Phht; and it was still again.  The Reaper reappeared and once again looked around the room.  His eyes met mine and he paused, interrupted his surveillance.  Slowly a smile spread across his face, he closed one eye (his left one), raised his hand and pointed his index finger directly at me.  Then he moved to the door and disappeared into the night.

I almost wet my pants.  Oh shit, what does it mean when a hit man points and winks at you?  Am I next?  Who’s dead in the other room?  Does a silenced pistol really make that noise? I thought that was just in the movies?

I lived in mortal terror and constant fear for the next two weeks then it dawned on me.  I had been so stupid.  I hadn’t been targeted.  I’d just been hoodwinked.

***

  1. Ilya Fostiy. The Enlightened One | Crazy Art
  2. Quark chase | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  3. Superiority complex | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  4. Sky Geometry | The Bliss of Reality
  5. Bus Route & The Daily Prompt | The Jittery Goat
  6. Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise | The Road Less Travelled By
  7. Disguise | The Land Slide Photography
  8. Boundaries and Abuse | ALIEN AURA’S BlOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  9. Need A New Escape Plan | Exploratorius
  10. DP Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise | Sabethville
  11. Day 73: The Body Is A Brilliant Disguise | The Sacred Architecture of Here and Now
  12. The Dancer | My Little Avalon
  13. Surprise! | meanderedwanderings
  14. Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise | seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah
  15. The Jokester | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  16. Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise « Mama Bear Musings
  17. The Prankster gets Punked | The Ravenously Disappearing Woman
  18. Hoodwinked
  19. A genetic whatsit containing a pretty low gullibility factor | thoughtsofrkh
  20. Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise-Psychiatryc Side of Ego and Foolishness | Journeyman
  21. There’s No Foolin Me! | Musings | WANGSGARD
  22. Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise | imagination
  23. happy fortieth birthday to me | eastelmhurst.a.go.go
  24. Brilliant Disguise: My Old School | A Blog of One’s Own
  25. Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise | The WordPress C(h)ronicle
  26. Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  27. The Race?? [Porch Story #3] | Sitting on the Porch
  28. Growing Up Irish Under False Pretenses
  29. Irony of a Smile | Musings of a Menopausal Maven
  30. Knowing Me and Knowing You | Losing It
  31. Con Artists Are Everywhere | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  32. Demon | shame
  33. You left me with a hole in my balloon of awe « psychologistmimi
  34. You live and learn | Long Winding Road
  35. Got Me Good… | Life Confusions
  36. I Pulled the Wool Over My Own Eyes | Random Words
  37. Word of mouth disguise | Le Drake Noir
  38. Oh typical american food store! | Random & Real
  39. Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise « the barren page
  40. A Pleasant Surprise | Flowers and Breezes
  41. The only solace being, the secret remained | Outreach
  42. Tricking the Heart | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  43. Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise | DukkSheit Happens……….
  44. Tastes Like Chicken | …Properly Ridiculous…
  45. There is Something about Mary in the Deep South: My Alternate Persona « psychologistmimi
  46. Devils in Disguise | Views Splash!
  47. Taken in by the Best | Virginia Views
  48. Daily Prompt: Have a Pleasant Afternoon | Blackbird’s Nest
  49. A Deceiving Low-Down Dirty Deceiver | I Didn’t Just Wake Up This Morning with a Craving
  50. Beneath the mask | vic briggs
  51. Hot Air | Kate Murray
  52. DP Challenge – Brilliant Disguise | hometogo232
  53. Brilliant Disguise: Daily Post | Destino
  54. Howard the Good | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  55. Vermin | zaphnathpaaneah
  56. Sucker! | Trucker Turning Write
  57. Lockers, Lasers, and the Great Prank War (Daily Prompt) | Thinking Diagonally
  58. My hustle that never quite happened | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project”
  59. Nightswimming | My Days In A Song
  60. Daily Prompt: Disguise | That Montreal Girl
  61. Daily Prompt: Hoodwinked, fool me once… | @ The West Gate
  62. Brilliant Disguise – Pretending to be a friend | Purplesus’ Blog
  63. Riding in the Backseat | Wiley’s Wisdom
  64. I Thought I Knew What I Was Getting | 365 Days of Thank You
  65. The Best Kind of Fooled | The Shotgun Girls

 

9 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. WHAA..?!?!?! Are you Serious!?!?! was that REAL?!? or are you just an Incredible writer that cried “Fish On!” to the deck hand as you laughingly reeled me in?!?!?! Either way…. (Violet stands abruptly and begins clapping ferociously) “Bravissimo!!”

    Like

  3. Pingback: fellas i like…. | DukkSheit Happens..........

  4. Pingback: You left me with a hole in my balloon of awe « psychologistmimi

  5. Pingback: A Brilliant Disguise – or – I Heard it on the Radio | Cancer Isn't Pink

  6. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Poem / Poetry – “Whoppers” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.