OLWG #27 – Perfect Crime

 Written for OLWG #27



The dark coffee swirls in the bottom of the cup – the steam
wafts, I breathe deep and savour the aroma, replace the carafe

 

Beneath the colonial chair, piled high – covered in books, magazines, and sewing notions
an orange stripey Mama cat crouches

 

A knotted piece of thread lies still and quiet on the cool wooden floor
it’s already dead, I killed it last night, thinking it was a spider

 

Blitzkrieg! Mama Kitty pounces with homicide in her eye
her sharp fangs and claws flashing makes short work of murder

 

She roughs him up some, purely for show, then presents
me with the corpse – a gift, an offering of some sort

 

Breathing  a sigh of relief I sip from my cup – Mama’s guilty;
everyone saw, I’ll get away with it.


This week’s prompts are

  1. get away with it
  2. Here kitty, kitty, kitty
  3. You shouldn’t ask me that

 

10 thoughts on “OLWG #27 – Perfect Crime

  1. LRose

    Fun take! My cat did that once to the ribbon on a wrapped gift. I guess she did not approve of all the loops and swirls of the pretty bow. Anyway, gotta ask: All three prompts, or just two? 😉

    Like

  2. Sarah Ann

    Love the short punchy sentence turning this into a series of scenes – and such scenes. The aroma of coffee pervades beyond the screen.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.