Daily Prompt: Three Coins in the Fountain

Daily Prompt: Three Coins in the Fountain

Have you ever tossed a coin or two into a fountain and made a wish? Did it come true?

***

It was a full moon last night and it happened again.  It always seems to happen when the moon is full or at least damn close to being full.  I gotta get a new job, maybe.

This is how it played out.

The three kids came into the store about 10:00 PM.  They spread out.  I just knew they were going to steal something.  That’s how they work.  Why does this always happen on my shift?

The kid with the torn jeans and blue t-shirt headed back to the cooler where we kept the beer.  “Hey,” I shouted towards the coolers, “we always ID ya know.”

I shifted my gaze to the skinny girl with the dirty, stringy hair.  She was pacing up and down the candy aisle.  She turned on her attitude, looked at me and asked, “Do I gotta have a ID for a candy bar too?  Jeeze what a shitbird you are, can’t ya see we’re customers?”

I frowned and swiveled my head to the third kid.  She was just stepping around from behind the magazine rack, smoothing her oversized shirt. I knew she had just lifted something.  Probably something stupid, like a dumb fashion magazine. Or that other fish wrap that masqueraded as news.  I hoped she hadn’t taken that one.  It was our final copy and I hadn’t read about the Ohio woman yet.  I never read the articles.  I just get them for the pictures.

“I need to ask you to put that back, young lady” I said to her.

“Put what back?” She asked and raised her eyebrows.  “What are you talkin’ about?  Are you accusing me o’ sumpin?  We don’t need to take this from you” she said and turned towards the door.  “Come on Mickey, come on Mike – let’s split.”

“Don’t make me do this.” I said quietly.  I reached into my pocket and pulled out 75 cents, three quarters.

“Do what?” the skinny girl growled as she started walking towards me.  “What do you think you can do?”

I closed my eyes, made a wish and threw the quarters onto the floor.

It got quiet, it got still.  I opened my eyes and the kids were gone.  There were three cheap beers on the floor by the cooler.  Four Almond Joys were scattered between my counter and where the girl with the dirty hair had been. I came out from behind the counter and moved around the magazine rack.  There it was. “Ohio Woman takes Martian Lover” the headline read.  I picked the paper up and put it on the counter so I could read it later.

As I was gathering the candy bars I thought, Sometimes it’s good to work at Wishing Well Liquor.  You never know when you might need a wish to come true.

***

  1. THE WOMAN WHO CANNOT COOK | She Writes
  2. This I Wish: | Musings | WANGSGARD
  3. Bitten by the Love Bug!! [Wish Come True] | She Writes
  4. Last wish | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  5. “Take a breath, count to three, throw it in” | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project”
  6. Pensive | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  7. Daily Prompt & For The Love And Sea Shells | The Jittery Goat
  8. Spring is late as we | y
  9. tossing a coin | Love your dog
  10. Daily Prompt: Three Coins in the Fountain | Sabethville
  11. Three Coins in the Fountain: Daily Prompt | ALIEN AURA’S BlOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  12. Wishing | Kate Murray
  13. Shooting Star | the intrinsickness
  14. ever so often i | y
  15. Rejected by the Trevi Fountain | wisskko’s blog
  16. Wishes of a Dreamer | jsleflore
  17. Daily Prompt: Three Coins in the Fountain #postaday | Of Glass & Paper
  18. Fountains | Writing and Works
  19. Daily Prompt: Three Coins in the Fountain | genieve celada photography
  20. Daily Prompt: Three Coins in the Fountain | seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah
  21. Wishing on a Fallen Penny | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  22. Coins In A Fountain | Awake & Dreaming
  23. Fontana di Trevi | Life is great
  24. My 27 Cents Worth ::E.N.Howie’s Motivational Moments
  25. Daily Prompt: Three Coins in the Fountain | Basically Beyond Basic
  26. Me, aged about ten, “I wish I could fly”… | thoughtsofrkh
  27. Tossing pennies over the left shoulder into the Trevi Fountain and staving off nosebleeds « psychologistmimi
  28. I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  29. Among the Whispers
  30. Daily Prompt: Three Coins in the Fountain | Burning Imagination
  31. ‘Wishful Thinking’ – A Short Story | jigokucho
  32. Daily Prompt: Three Coins in the Fountain « Mama Bear Musings
  33. Coins in the Fountain | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  34. Throw Away Your Money | Knowledge Addiction
  35. Try it and See | Flowers and Breezes
  36. Daily Prompt: Three Coins in the Fountain- Psychological Reason of Why We Do It | Journeyman
  37. Wish Upon a Fountain Coin | Short Story Sally
  38. Superstitions exists, all across the Globe! | Sathya’s Sprinkles
  39. luck of the Irish | eastelmhurst.a.go.go
  40. I Wish I Were a Bad Girl: A Dirty Bird Learns to Fly | Kosher Adobo
  41. Darling, | shame
  42. Wishing Well | The Silver Leaf Journal
  43. Lost Dreams | INKLINGS
  44. Wishes (Daily Prompt Challenge) | Ana Linden
  45. When I Wish Upon a Well
  46. Daily Prompt: Three Coins in the Fountain | Amanda’s Blog™
  47. Wish Fountain | The Land Slide Photography
  48. Daily Prompt: Three Coins in the Fountain | My name is Ellie and this is who I am.
  49. When You Wish Upon a Coin | djgarcia94
  50. Wishing Anew | The Giardino Journey
  51. Daily Prompt: Three Coins In The Fountain | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  52. Wish what you may | Emovere
  53. That Stupid Smile | Views Splash!
  54. Answers to Calls | The Word Trance
  55. The pond. | real talk and reverie
  56. Cinderella | U Be Cute – Follow the child inside of you…
  57. So where did the daily prompt go? | As I See It
  58. Daily Prompt: Three Coins in a Fountain | That Montreal Girl
  59. A Wish Upon A Fountain | B.Kaotic
  60. From the Horseshoe to the Singing Fountain | Never Finished
  61. Daily prompt: Forget the fountain, just gimme the wish | helen meikle’s scribblefest
  62. DP: THREE COINS | DANDELION’S DEN
  63. Daily Prompt: Three Coins in the Fountain | lessialiral
  64. Throwin’ good money after bad… | Willow’s Corner

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Three Coins in the Fountain

  1. Good morning. By sheer coincidence I used the term “not on my shift” a few minutes ago in a post. And now see you used the same term in yours. And I made reference to a candy store also.
    You are definitely sending out your telepathic influenece, whether you realise it or not.
    Great story, your imagination is amazing.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Three Coins in the Fountain | lessialiral

  3. Pingback: Tossing pennies over the left shoulder into the Trevi Fountain and staving off nosebleeds « psychologistmimi

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.