Daily Prompt: If I Could Turn Back Time with More Talking Animals

Daily Prompt: If I Could Turn Back Time

If you could return to the past to relive a part of your life, either to experience the wonderful bits again, or to do something over, which part of your life would you return to? Why?


 

Billy Bob Brickhead considered himself the luckiest man alive. He was kickin back at the Compleat Angler Hotel on the banks of the River Thames in Marlow, Bucks, England that is. He had just taken over as Director, European Marketing and Sales for Dot.Com. “Who’d a thought a farm boy from Texas could rise to such heights in the corporate world?”

There would be a lot of work though. He knew that. He had to find a flat. He had to locate and furnish office accommodations. He had to hire staff. There was a trade show in Hannover that he was supposed to be at next week and he was still dealing with that technical problem in Italy that had to be solved. No worries, he would get a good night’s sleep and hit the ground running in the morning.

The next morning Billy Bob decided to walk across the bridge into town and call on the first estate agent that he found. The swans distracted him though and he detoured into the green to walk along the river bank and watch the graceful birds glide on the smooth water. It was peaceful and pastoral and he walked a bit farther than intended. He found himself alone when he heard a soft voice, “Pardon me sir, I’m terribly sorry to bother you but I seem to have become entangled in a nest of fishing line. I wonder, if it’s not too much trouble, could see your way to free me? I could grant you three wishes.”

Billy Bob looked around but saw only a lone swan squatting on the bank next to the water. He shook his head to clear it and figgered he just had a slight case of jet lag. “Wow, I gotta be hearin’ thin’s,” he said out loud and he shook his head.

The voice came again, “I assure you sir you are not hearing things. I really do require your aid and I will reward you handsomely.”

Billy Bob snorted and again spoke to himself, “Ain’t nobody here cept me and that bird. I know that wasn’t me talkin’.” He leaned down and squinted at the swan.

“No sir, you are correct, you are not the one talking.” The swan said. “I really am sorry but, I do require assistance and I am empowered to grant you three wishes, but only three.”

“Shit, howdy” murmured Billy Bob and he pulled his Buck knife from his boot to free the bird.

When he was free the swan turned to Billy Bob, “What are your three deepest desires?” he asked.

The Texan, quite frankly, was stumped. The situation had taken him completely off guard. “I don’t rightly know. Do ya’ll got any suggestions?”

The swan rolled his eyes and offered some ideas, “There are the standard kinds of wishes for a gentleman with your, ahem, social graces. You know the ones; wealth, women, world peace.” He shrugged his shoulders, and held his wings out slightly as if to say, what do you want from me?

“Yeah, yeah, yeah wealth and women sounds pretty good to me lets go with those two first.” Billy Bob grinned, pushed his Stetson back on his head and rubbed his hands together.
“And, your third wish sir?” asked the bird. “Shall I arrange some world peace for you? Perhaps some time traveling? You could go back and relive some particularly exciting time on the ranch if you would like.”

“Nah, screw the world peace” Billy Bob said. “And, I’m already livin the dream, why the hell would I want to go back in time. I’ll tell ya what though, I would like to wish for three more wishes.” He said smugly, confident that he had just pulled a fast one on the magic swan.

“I’m terribly sorry sir but that will not be possible.” The swan answered back equally smug. “You will recall that I told you at the beginning of our negotiations that I would grant you three wishes but ONLY three. You cannot use your third wish to wish for more wishes.”

“Damnit,” said Billy Bob to the bird, “I wish I could!”


 

  1. MY POISON IVY EFFECT [EMEM’S DIARY] | She Writes
  2. what if | the hilarious pessimist
  3. Toes like telltale crocuses | Butterfly Mind
  4. Insert End of an Era Cliché Here | AS I PLEASE
  5. A sight never forgotten… | ALIEN AURA’S BLOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  6. Daily Prompt: If I Could Turn Back Time- Psychology Behind Being Present And Daily Life | Journeyman
  7. no regrets | think | architect
  8. The Match | The Jittery Goat
  9. Daily Prompt: If I could Turn Back Time | The WordPress C(h)ronicle
  10. Living in The Early 1900’s – WANGSGARD
  11. Daily Prompt : Turning back time | Love your dog
  12. Those Crawling Days – Undoubtedly The Best | Ambiguity and Fraternity
  13. A is for April: What’s New This Month | My Little Avalon
  14. Personal Atonement | In the Present
  15. May contain nuts | Kate Murray
  16. DP Daily Prompt: If I Could Turn Back Time | Sabethville
  17. Now | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  18. Grey | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  19. Daily Prompt – If I Could Turn Back Time | hometogo232
  20. Back To The Future For A Fresh Start | Awake & Dreaming
  21. My fleeting high school dream of being a genetic engineer. #DNA @wordpressdotcom @postaday | Frozen Spaghetti
  22. What if we can Travel Through Time. | Free Thinkers Mag.
  23. enter | yi-ching lin photography
  24. Daily Prompt: If I Could Turn Back Time | Basically Beyond Basic
  25. Don’t do it | The verbal hedge
  26. Looking Back | Works By Anastasia
  27. If Time Could Go Back, What Would I Do? | From Hiding to Blogging
  28. But All the Time Turners Broke… | thanks for letting me autograph your cat
  29. Endless Summer | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  30. Daily Prompt: If I could Turn Back Time | Bob’s Blog-O-Rama
  31. Daily prompt 🙂 | myjourneyeveryday
  32. My First Bloggyversary! | Haiku By Ku
  33. Zin « Averil Dean
  34. Daily Prompt: If I could Turn Back Time | seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah
  35. Presente | Daily Post. – Missmosta
  36. For the Love of …. The NORTH BORNEO RAILWAYS | Duniya Ku
  37. If We Go Back | Flowers and Breezes
  38. Relive those moments… | FREE BIRD
  39. Daily Prompt: If I could Turn Back Time | | Shawn
  40. If I Could Turn Back Time | Dave Kester
  41. Turn Back, Stop at Fifty | Emotional Fitness
  42. The Best Moment Award: Living for the Now and for Mom’s Penguin Stories « psychologistmimi
  43. Revisiting myself | One Educator’s Life
  44. Corn | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  45. If I could turn back time | theoriesinthought
  46. I’d kick my own butt. | Thoughts Go Back
  47. Help Me Distribute Personal Care Items With Dignity
  48. Time Travel | Life Confusions
  49. Daily Prompt: If I Could Turn Back Time | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  50. If I could turn back time | That Montreal Girl
  51. DP: Do Over | Scorched Ice
  52. Travel to the innocence | Life is great
  53. Would I have asked you to dance? | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project”
  54. First Love | wisskko’s blog
  55. DO NOT cash in that stock grandma gave you! | The Flavored Word
  56. Pure Land | Dreams to Reality !
  57. If I Had It To Do Over – Daily Prompt | Why is there bread in my Kool-Aid?
  58. Daily Prompt: If I could Turn Back Time, 01.04.14 | Markie’s Daily Blog
  59. It isn’t a good thing or a bad thing. It is just a thing. | Vampire Maman
  60. Harda – A Seed is Sown | Views Splash!
  61. Daily Prompt: Mother | Morrighan’s Muse
  62. but that was yesterday and yesterday’s gone | eastelmhurst.a.go.go
  63. If I Could Turn Back Time | treasurethememory
  64. Disrupting the Flow | djgarcia94
  65. Once upon a summer | mnemosynesandlethe
  66. Do “Do Overs” Exist? | Raising Our Redheads
  67. You can’t always go back. | SusannaAntihero
  68. Glazed in Gold | Call Me Incorrigible
  69. Flowing Backwards | Overcoming to Becoming
  70. That Time We Had to Smuggle Bacon Into the Country.. | Kosher Adobo
  71. If I Could Turn Back Time, from the Daily Prompt | janetcatland
  72. If I Could Turn Back Time: Daily Post | Destino
  73. If I Could Turn Back Time/DP Challenge | Starting Write Now
  74. DP: Turn Back Time – A Question of Moments by Ruswa Fatehpuri | aliabbasali
  75. If I Could Turn Back Time – ROBIN’S REAL LIFE
  76. Daily Prompt: Being able to Relive! | All Things Cute and Beautiful
  77. If I could, I wouldn’t . . . | Right The Writer
  78. If I could Turn Back Time… | ~Tiger lily~
  79. Of Days that Once Have Been (A Poem) | meanderedwanderings
  80. Daily Prompt: If I could Turn Back Time. | Ty
  81. It had lights! | Trucker Turning Write
  82. The Two-word Answer | My Author-itis
  83. Hindsight is 20/10 | litebeing chronicles
  84. Back To The Blanket | Edward Hotspur
  85. Letter to My Future Self | the intrinsickness
  86. If I Could Turn Back Time, If I Could Reminisce. | My Renaissance Blog
  87. Daily Prompt: If I Could Turn Back Time | F X T 8
  88. If I Could Turn Back Time | Late Bloomer Liz
  89. Wrong Answer | Speculative Paradigm Shifts
  90. If I could turn back time | A Guatemalan Affair
  91. Fleet | Seat | Retreat | fifty5words

9 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: If I Could Turn Back Time with More Talking Animals

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: If I Could Turn Back Time | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: If I Could Turn Back Time | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  3. Pingback: Harda – A Seed is Sown | Views Splash!

  4. I wonder if that would work – can’t wish for more wishes but wishing you could wish for more wishes would be useless since he wished it on the third. Oh well.

    Like

  5. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Poem / Poetry – “Searching For Release” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  6. Pingback: The Best Moment Award: Living for the Now and for Mom’s Penguin Stories « psychologistmimi

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.