Daily Prompt: Object Lesson

Daily Prompt: Object Lesson

 Sherlock Holmes had his pipe. Dorothy had her red shoes. Batman had his Batmobile. If we asked your friends what object they most immediately associate with you, what would they answer?


 

“All right, I can be out of here in 15 minutes. I’ll leave. Just let me get my things.”

She glared at me, folded her arms below her breasts and shifted her weight onto her back foot.

An old beer box from the garage would serve my purpose so; I carried it into the bedroom and loaded it up with three golf discs, five T-shirts, two pair of socks and the William Trevor book that I’m currently reading. The laptop was already in my backpack. I added two pair of jeans. Grabbed my Martin Dreadnought and my toothbrush and put these things into the cab of my pickup. I picked up my old mountain bike and tossed it into the back.

She watched from the front porch.

“See ya baby,” I said and opened the driver’s door and climbed in.

“Don’t forget your good for nothin’ dog.” She said and let the old hound out through the screen door.  He promptly sat down next to her on the porch and wagged his tail.

“That’s not my dog. That dog was here when I got here.”

“Really?” she questioned, “I thought you brought him.”

The truck started up easily, I pushed in the Jerry Jeff Walker tape that was loaded in the deck and cranked it up. I eased the clutch out and rolled down the street. My eyes fixed firmly on the road in front of me and I studiously avoided looking in the rearview mirror.


It’s not the object. It’s the objects (plural). I’m sure you’ll like these takes better than mine – check ’em out!

 

Perspectives on life, universe and everything Return of the smile
Perspectives on life, universe and everything Self esteem
gut honest faith Water wporterblog
The Wandering Poet Where love is all there is..
From Balderdash To Epiphany. Identifying Symbols
The Wandering Poet Ese’s a word a week: Context
A mom’s blog Objects that become YOU
Life as we say so.. Glued to me
Pippakin Talks Cats, Dogs, Teeth and Claws Daily Post – Object Lesson life as sirli
lifelessons – a blog by Judy Dykstra-Brown The Air Around Me
The Joe Sales Blog My Blackberry
risingrave28 Definitions
Journeyman Object Lesson- My Purple Shirt Charm and Magical Power
The WordPress C(h)ronicle Object Lesson
A Little Fluff I Always Have My ………..
spirit grind rebel with a curl
The World of Andy Lawson Through The Glass Panels
asterretha d. love&chocolate
Crazywonderfullife Daily Post-Object Lesson (Sewing Machine)
davidfetzer6271951 Object Lesson
Pints Of… Object Lesson