Daily Prompt: Back to Life

Daily Prompt: Back to Life

 After an especially long and exhausting drive or flight, a grueling week at work, or a mind-numbing exam period — what’s the one thing you do to feel human again?


Fourteen hours, I drove fourteen hours straight to get home to Calgary.

Fourteen hours straight in a rented “Smart Car”.

Life sucks.

A smart car is designed for a 20 minute drive, tops.

I tell you right now that I will ride across the Andes in a prison bus before I drive fourteen hours in a smart car again.

In all fairness though I did get home, and that is a good thing.

My wife was waiting up for me and that is a good thing too.

She probably waited up for me because I called her three hours before I got home. I think she was feeling sorry for me. I think “pity” is the operative word here.

God I love her.

She had gone to the package store to get me a drink.

Something I could have when I got home to help me decompress.

Due to the holiday weekend, the package store was pretty picked over.

There wasn’t much left on the shelves.

She got me two bottles of Cognac.

Airplane sized bottles.

“Moose Butt” brand.

God I love her.

When I got in, she kissed me and told me she had missed me.

The kids were in bed.

“Come on in for a Cognac” she said.

I looked at the bottles. “I’m not sure I can drink this. Do we have any needles?”

She smiled and poured one of the bottles into an old fashioned glass, handed it to me. The other she poured into a coffee cup and kept for herself.

She took my hand and led me upstairs. “The kids are in bed.” She said.

God I love her.


 

Sugar-coating Since ’91 Art
From Balderdash To Epiphany. Rest From Vacation
tuckedintoacorner The Collapse
gut honest faith Lounge sluggard
Pints Of… Back to Life
lifelessons – a blog by Judy Dykstra-Brown Away
The Wandering Poet Daily post – Back to life
One Man Versus the World Relax and Unwind
Muddy River Muse I go walking: Day’s end
Living, Breathing, and Surviving, and Coping with Mental Illness Daily Post – I Wanted To Feel Human, I wanted to Feel Alive. I Thought Suicide Could Do This
The WordPress C(h)ronicle Back to Life
More Action Research Called back into being
That’s My Philosophy Humane Association
seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah Back to Life
Rideo, Ergo Supero Life Unplugged
musingsofawarmheart Somewhere over the rainbow…
FlippyZipFlop (DP) Hmmmm what would I do? risingrave28
Kosher Adobo Taking Off My Shoes
Mama Bear Musings Back to Life
Hot cup of Kaapi Back to Life after Work
Bob’s Blog-O-Rama Daily Prompt : Back to Life
Prairie Views Desolate Drives
A Little Fluff Back to Life
the masculine pen The Daily Post – Back to Life – Read or go ‘flying’
The Undaunted Blue Madness Of My Life UNWINDING WITH MUSIC
Hope* the happy hugger Life to back
Life’s Journeys Unfolding Back to Life – From Dismemberment to Re-Embodiment in Two Easy Steps
My Simple Life The Rhythm of Life
A Slice of Life Music is the Key
Sweat, Tears and Digital Ink Quick Tips for Winding Down as a Freelance Writer
Business over coffee To Feel Human I….
Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss Back to Life – did I die??
Find Your Passion Tired All the Time
Keyboard Pizza Worked Hard? Game Harder
I’m a Writer, Yes I Am Hell on Wings, Part Two, Parigi
Here I am !! Back to Life
cognitive reflection Back to Life
Delicate How to be Human 101
practicallyserious 5 Ways to Unwind After a Stressful Plane Flight
Pippakin Talks Cats, Dogs, Teeth and Claws Daily Post – Back to Life
Traversing Lines Wake Me Up
SERENDIPITY TIME WHORES AND THEIR DAMNED GAMES
Ivy Mosquito Zzzzzzzzzzzz….
Writing Prompts for Rookie Writers The Daily Post’s prompt: “Back to Life”
Shes Rambling About Stuff How to feel human 7 Steps with photos
Completely Disappear Back to Life
Barryjack’s Place Resetting
life as sirli Lazy day
KindlingWord Ode to Joy
no1jenn Back to Life
Life is great Dolce far niente
Walk With Me Feeling Human
Moondustwriter’s Blog Como se dice? #dpchallenge #poetry #children
The DailyJunior DogBlog “Back to Life”: What Would The Therapy Dog Do?
This Blog Needs A Title Watching Some Comedy
Musing Off the Mat Back to Life
Flowers and Breezes First Thing
Basically Beyond Basic Back to Life
ALIEN AURA’S BLOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND! Back to life
The Quirky Life of P Synergy and Energy…
psychologistmimi Force myself to relax and then hit the ongoing fast-paced merry-go-round
The Daily Blabber Please Pass the Potatoes
oneseventwentyfourteen Go to my happy place. Aha. Thanks Tom.
In My Ruins, There is Treasure Revive, rejuvenate, or, how I relax (writing prompt)
I FOLLOW ISLANDS Flight from hell
Thoughts from the Front What a day…
Emotional Fitness Pray for Relief
The Sunny Narrative. Revitalisation.
Emotional Fitness Pray for relief, act with hope
All Things Cute and Beautiful Being Human Again!
MillyMollyMandy Back to Life
Emovere Got my life back
Understanding and Embracing Diversity Back to Life through Exercise
nanashirl Back to Life
The Wandering Poet Write with your heart..
soulfoood The taboo of being too human
field of thorns Path
(A Day in the Life) Un Giorno Nella Vita Back to Life
Willow’s Corner Bring me to Life
Precious Marks Upon the World Coming Undone
Daily Prompt Coming Undone
This, On Purpose The Profession That Makes One Batty.
Impressions…  Back To Life: Pet Therapy
This Thread Sucks Resurrection by Chords
A Girl In Solitude Back To Life From Solitude
joatmon14 Get Over Yourself. . . and Live
Your Easiest & Most Profitable FREE Fundraising Option! Back to Life: Into the Arms of Music
crystal blue persuasion that feels much better…
A lot from Lydia After Work
Just Writing! Normal? What’s That?
djgarcia94 Krash
Redg vs. The Machine On feeling productive and the need for weekends
Storyline Refresh
A-Scribe To Describe Back to Life – Read to Write
eastelmhurst a.go.go recuperating from stress or exhaustion
A place to be In my own head
The Daily 400 Wring Me Out Like a Wash Cloth
A Penny For Her Thoughts Back to Life
99 Problems And Done Back to Life, Back to Reality
Rubber Tyres –> Smooth Rides Back to Life: Unwinding
The Gad About Town Stress Is a Six-Letter Word. So Is ‘Human’
another cup of coffee Post A Day: Back to Life
Staying in Focus Staying in Focus: Back to Life: Let’ s be Real