Tuesday Scribes – Mr. Pomeroy Visits the Doctor

A short story, written for this week’s prompt at Tuesday Scribes.



“Mr. Pomeroy, I’d like to do some word association experiments with you. Is that OK?”
“Sure, Doc. How’s it work?”
“I’ll say a word and you tell me the first thing that pops into your mind. Kind of like, I may say inside and you might reply with outside. Got it?”
“Yeah, let’s go.”
“OK, Fast”
“Uhm, Zippy”
“Unnatural”
“Zippy”
“Decisive”
“I have to say, Zippy”
“Groovy”
“That’s easy – Zippy”

“I’m not sure that you understand what we’re trying to do here, Mr. Pomeroy. Let’s change tack, shall we?”
“OK, sure.”
“I’m going to show you some pictures and you tell me what you see. Here’s the first one.”


“Well, if you turned it ninety degrees, clockwise it would look like a naked lady, playing golf.”
“And, this one?”


“It looks just like the bug crawling out of your shirt pocket.”


The challenge is to write a short story.
It can be as short as you like but no longer than 200-words.