Daily Post: Take That, Rosetta!

kold kona 011

 If you could wake up tomorrow and be fluent in any language you don’t currently speak, which would it be? Why? What’s the first thing you do with your new linguistic skills?

 ***

She bounded into the room and jumped on the bed.  I could tell she was looking forward to something.  Her body was literally vibrating with anticipation. She lay down next to me; tingling, unable to hold herself still.

“Hey Kona” I said and scratched right behind her jaw.  She’s a sucker for that and she pointed her nose to the ceiling, closed her eyes and enjoyed it for a while.

“It’s a beautiful morning,” she said.  “I went in the backyard to pee.  It’s raining, ya know! Glorious, I love the rain, don’t you? Can we go out soon?  Are you hungry yet?  Maybe we should eat.  Whadda ya think?”

“You went out in the rain and then jumped on my bed huh?  Did you at least wipe your feet when you came back in the house?”

“Oh, no.  Sorry”

I looked down at the duvet.  The muddy paw prints were not too bad. I immediately forgave her.  She possesses such enthusiasm and looks forward to each moment of the day.  She truly knows how to live life to the fullest.  I’ve learned a lot from her.

“Come on” I dragged myself out of bed.  It was still dark.  The coffee was calling me.

“Do you think I should wear a sweater today?” Kona asked.  “Maybe just a tee shirt – it’s not that cold.  I like that white tee you let me wear sometimes.  Can I wear it again today?”

“I don’t know Kona, I think it might be in the laundry.”

“I don’t care,” she said “I’ll just get it dirty again anyway.  You wanna go outside and play?  I’ll get a tennis ball.”

***

  1. Daily Post: Take That, Rosetta! | Basically Beyond Basic
  2. Istanbul – çok pahalı çok güzel | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  3. Let’s talk in verse | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  4. Teachable Moments Are The Last Refuge Of Tyrants | The Jittery Goat
  5. Concrete Navy | Exploratorius
  6. Daily Prompt: Take That Rosetta | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer
  7. Lovely language of love and lust – Daily Prompt | alienorajt

18 thoughts on “Daily Post: Take That, Rosetta!

  1. Pingback: Give Me it ALL, Rosetta Stone | The Mercenary Researcher

  2. Pingback: Lovely language of love and lust – Daily Prompt | alienorajt

  3. Pingback: Mother tongue | A mom's blog

  4. Pingback: ANYONE WANT SOME TONGUE? | SERENDIPITY

  5. Pingback: Daily Post: Take That Rosetta! | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. Pingback: Daily Post: Take That, Rosetta! | ferwam

  7. Pingback: Daily Post: Take That, Rosetta! | Wordz on a Page

  8. Pingback: Grüezi! Daily Post | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  9. Pingback: Daily Post: Take That, Rosetta! | The Wandering Poet

  10. Pingback: How Speaking French Could Make You Sexy! | The Political and Social Chaos Blog

  11. Pingback: The Camino Plan | Spanish Lessons For The Road

  12. Pingback: Daily Post: Take That, Rosetta! | To Breathe is to Write

  13. Pingback: Parlez Vous Francais? | "The Ish," presented by the Bohemian Rock Star

  14. Pingback: Speak To Me | Edward Hotspur

  15. Pingback: Daily Post: Take That, Rosetta! | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  16. When I had my dog, I used to wonder what he was thinking sometimes. I enjoyed your post, and you’re right, dogs do live life to the fullest, as we all should. 😀

    Blessings,
    Cheryl

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.