SL-WEEK 1 : Moi

Yesterday I received an invitation from M.

It could be something that defines me. But no single thing fully defines anyone. Your work does not define you, your looks do not define you, who you choose to love and who loves you do not define you. There are simply too many facets of each of us for one photo to define us.

Soooooo….

I took this picture three days ago of some lights that I recently made that have been installed at a small amphitheater in a park not too far away. In this case I am telling you that my work is what defines me. In truth, it only defines part of me but so be it. I hope this fits the bill!



DSC_0986

Photo Challenge; Symbol

Photo Challenge; Symbol

This week, share a symbol with us, and tell us what it means to you.



 

Cross - Made on consignment para El Dia de Los Muertos 2009
Cross – Made on consignment para El Dia de Los Muertos 2009

This is a sculpture I made for a client. My brief was for a metal cross with a Dia de Los Muertos motif. The iron was all welded together scrap – rebar, flat bar, and cut nails, with the exception of the spear points (they are welded too but I had to buy them). The skull figure is ceramic – formed, fired, glazed, and fired again. The piece is currently rusting in a garden near Moss Landing, CA.

 

Cross Detail - Made on consignment para El Dia de Los Muertos 2009
Cross Detail – Made on consignment para El Dia de Los Muertos 2009