DPchallenge: Object

Nurse Ratchet, Dr. Pain, My Hand, and Me

***

It was last Wednesday afternoon when I noticed .  I was shopping at Midtown Hardware on East 17th.  I had gone for parts to fix a leak in the downstairs bathroom sink.  Al, my “helpful hardware man”, had steered me to the right aisle, I found the necessary parts and it was when I reached to take them off the shelf that I noticed .  My hand is rough and calloused.  It does, after all, have to do the same amount of work that most people have two hands for.  I’m used to wear and tear but I wasn’t used to this.  I wasn’t expecting this.  This scared me.  I needed to get to a doctor fast.

I abandoned the washers I had selected to reseat the valve, went immediately outside and hailed a taxi. I told the driver to get me to 83 Medical Plaza on the double.  I added that there was an extra 50 in it for him if he could get me there in less than ten minutes.  He did.  I leapt out of the cab and sprinted into the lobby.  Running in place while I waited for the lift – come on, come on.  I finally broke for the stairway and ran the eight flights up to Dr. James Thomas Payne’s suite of offices.

Jimmy and I had grown up together, next door neighbors.  He had always been part of my life as I had been part of his.  He was six days older than me.  We went to each other’s first birthday parties.  I know, I’ve seen the pictures.

We started school together, played ball for MacArthur High School together, and years later had  some interesting drunken evenings together when we discovered that we had even lost our virginity to the same girl, at about the same time.  She had been a senior, we were sophomores.   I shudder when I think about it.

Jimmy and I were inseparable for 18 years; until he went to college and med school.  I went into the Marines with the intention of being a lifer dog.  I didn’t make it though. I took a medical discharge and came back home as a one-armed vet. Jimmy was a full-fledged MD with a fledgling general practice on the eighth floor of 83 Medical Plaza.  He has been my doctor ever since, despite my initial trepidation of hiring a doctor with the unfortunate surname of Payne (rhymes with Pain).

I burst through the door to Jimmy’s office and went straight to the desk of his guard dog, Nurse Ratchet.  That wasn’t her real name but it was what I always called her.  I teased her and told her that she looked and acted just like her namesake from the movie.  “Ratchet, I need to see Jimmy!  It’s an emergency.” I gasped.

She clutched the top of her white uniform, pulling it tight at the neck, “Why, Mr. Barrett,” she said a bit flustered, “Doctor is with a patient now.  If you’ll take a seat I’ll work you in somehow.”

“Never mind, I’ll wait in his office.” I told her and, as she protested, I opened the door to the back passageway.  Jimmy’s office was the only door to the left, situated at the end of the hall. File rooms, equipment rooms, a toilet, and a few examination rooms opened off the passageway to the right.  All the doors were shut.  I hurried into Jimmy’s office and sat at his desk.

Opening the bottom drawer, I found his bottle of scotch and poured two fingers into a highball glass that I found on the credenza.  I drank it in a single draught.  I stood again and began pacing.  Pretty soon Jimmy came in and looked at me with concern in his face.  “What’s wrong, Ed?  Louise told me you’re all worked up about something.”

“I guess, I am” I said, “Look at this shit.”  I stuck my hand out, palm down, so he could see the back of it.

He grabbed my hand and pulled it closer so he could see it better, “Jesus, Ed, why did you wait so long to come in?” he asked, the sarcastic urgency apparent in his voice.

“Can you fix it?” his sarcasm was lost on me.

He dropped my hand.  “Does it hurt, because I sure can’t see anything wrong with it?”

“What do you mean you can’t see anything wrong?  Look at those brown spots.  Are they tumors?  Can you operate? Crap, Jimmy,  I only got one hand, I gotta take care of it!  You gotta take care of it!”

Jimmy pushed me into the visitor’s chair and walked around the desk.  He sat down and opened the whiskey drawer, got another glass and poured us both a dram.  He handed me one and sipped out of the other, “As your physician,” he said, “I am obligated to advise you that those discolored patches on the backs of your hands are what is known in the business as ‘age spots’.  They’re normal.  You’re probably going to live and, there’s nothing to worry about.”

“I want a second opinion.  My grandpa had these same spots and he’s dead now.”

“Your Grandpa was 94 years old when he died Ed.  And, he sure wasn’t killed by age spots. You, on the other hand, are 56 years old and these are to be expected.  Now get the fuck out of my office and go home and make mad passionate love with your wife.  You and Marie are still coming to dinner on Friday right?”

“You sure I’m alright?”

“You’re alright.”

I turned and walked towards the door, “OK, I’ll trust you.  See you Friday.”

“Bring beer” he shouted to the closing door.

I walked out to the lobby, “See ya, Ratchet.” I said.  “Thanks.”

“Have a lovely afternoon, Mr. Barrett.”

***

  1. I don’t have a caffeine problem, and neither do you | Never Stationary
  2. Weekly Writing Challenge: Object | JGTravels
  3. The Do Over Train | melissuhhsmiles
  4. Join me for a writing challenge at The Daily Post | Butterfly Mind
  5. Doormats Insult My Intelligence | Bumblepuppies
  6. Weekly Writing Challenge: Object | A mom’s blog
  7. Injecting object | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me
  8. The Coat of Many Pockets | Musings of a Soul Eclectic
  9. Approaching your 30′s with a big question mark? | Sober Rants
  10. Apology Issue #1 | Doe Words
  11. #DPChallenge; The Music | thepanicpersona
  12. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Object | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  13. Weekly Writing Challenge: Object – Andrea | sailingthroughthefog
  14. An afternoon (inspired by a true story) | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project”
  15. Him | Emily Schleiger
  16. DP Challenge: Object. My camera. | cockatooscreeching
  17. The Can of Sardines | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  18. The Red Pen | Sleep Less, Write More
  19. Sparkle | Master Of Disaster
  20. whodunit mystery solved | Musings of a Random Mind
  21. WWC: Object | Simple Heart Girl
  22. Egg UKO | flour mill reflections
  23. A Little Purple Ring | theauthorwhoknows
  24. Weekly Writing Challenge: Object | imagination
  25. Talent Show | The Library Lady and Rosie Bear
  26. Weekly Writing Challenge: Object: My Grandma’s Hanky | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)
  27. Daily Prompt: Writing Challenge | The Road Less Travelled By
  28. Comforting pain | fifty5words
  29. WWC: Fenghuang | Kingdom of Sharks
  30. you are a box of | y
  31. Weekly Writing Challenge: Pope plates | Life of A Fallen Angel
  32. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Object Of Desire… | Mirth and Motivation
  33. Dirty Dishes | Etienette
  34. Alcove | My name is Ellie and this is who I am.
  35. The Short Ones Object (v.) | Mary J Melange
  36. Roadside Assistance (Fiction) | Toss the Typewriter
  37. Product Testing | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  38. The Coin | Mileventwelve
  39. Weekly Writing Challenge: Object | Sarah Alison
  40. Growing up in a Rickshaw | The Lesser Canine
  41. Scaring Myself Out Of—and Back Into—Writing | Imperfect Happiness
  42. Pieces of Us | loveletterstoaghost
  43. Volcanics « mediumblackdog
  44. until the stars stop | y
  45. A Rockstar To Get Me Through The Day | Lifestyle | WANGSGARD.COM

16 thoughts on “DPchallenge: Object

  1. Pingback: The Evil Calculator | Alexia Jones

  2. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: The Object | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Object | imagination

  4. Pingback: I Dreamed About Avril Lavigne | THE BLACK SPAGHETTI CHRONICLES

  5. Pingback: Tigger: an object – Weekly Writing Challenge | alienorajt

  6. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Object | A mom's blog

  7. Pingback: Injecting object | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  8. librarylady

    Hmmm, I used to work for a Dr. they just LUV patients like Mr. Barrett. Unfortunately their are a lot of them.

    Like

    1. You recognize, I hope, that I write fiction! I disavow any behavioral similarities between Mr. Barrett and myself. Thanks for reading!

      Like

  9. Pingback: Alarm | Stealing All the Sevens

  10. Pingback: The 6th of March 1997 – Fishkill, New York | Forgotten Correspondance

  11. Pingback: Oranges are the only fruit | litadoolan

  12. Pingback: Using FBI Documents when Writing my Mafia Memoir (Chapter Nine) | reinventing the event horizon

  13. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge – Object – 24 FEB 2014 | Joe's Musings

  14. Pingback: The 16th of May 1973 – Louisville, Kentucky | Forgotten Correspondance

  15. Pingback: An Insignificant Object | Wired With Words

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.